“A Goofy Movie”—There’s more to Goofy than just Laughs

For a  couple of weeks now I’ve had the urge to watch “A Goofy Movie” (directed by Kevin Lima)  and revisit my childhood,  so on a day as gloomy as this one I finally  went to Target and picked it up from the Kids selection. Changes are if you grew up in the 90’s you’ve seen “A Goofy Movie,” but lately it seems like this classic Disney movie is disappearing from children of today’s generation.

Personally, I feel like it’s a disgrace to let this movie slip through the cracks into abandonment because no one can make you laugh harder than Goofy with his klutziness and gullible personality. But I feel there is more too Goofy than just his funny antics, and I believe that the best part of “A Goofy Movie’’ is the fact that it humanizes Goofy by expanding his personality.

If by some chance you haven’t seen “A Goofy Movie” the movie centers on the bond between father and son. Goofy (Bill Farmer)  is a single dad that finds himself struggling to make a connection with his son Max (Jason Marsden), who seems to pull away even more each time he tries.  After receiving an upsetting phone call from principal Mazur about a stunt that Max pulled, Goofy is desperate to keep Max from going down the wrong path and must quickly take charge. He ultimately decides to uproot Max during a crucial time where love means life and death for a teenager, and take him on a father and son fishing trip to Lake Destiny.

Throughout the movie there is a perfect balance of laughter and sweet moments of tenderness as Goofy and Max are thrown into comedic adventures one after another that will make you laugh and cry, and before you know it you’ll find yourself you reminiscing over your own relationship with your father.

This movie is more than just a children’s movie that entertains for a brief period of time, it is also a movie that every child will come back to as adult and still find every moment to be just as captivating as they remember.

About Alex Magness

I'm a writer and cinema studies guru who is currently a student at SCAD, pursuing my many passions. I'm currently working on this blog which will hopefully satisfy my obsession with movies along with several short stories. I pull inspiration from my library of beloved films as well as my edgy taste of musicians. I'm aspiring to become a movie critic who writes fiction novels on the side.
This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment